History of TCA

          The hilly State of Tripura is the tiniest sister of the North East. It was a princely State before Independence. Moreover the socio-economic condition of the general people also stood in the way of popularization of the costly game of Cricket at that time. Perhaps this was the primary reason for the late-start of Cricket in the State.

          In 1949-50 Maharaja Kumar Kirit Bikram Kishore, who acquired Cricket knowledge in London during studies, used to organize Cricket-nets in the Palace compound during his vacation period at Agartala. Obviously at that time the game was limited to Royal family members and high officials.

          Perhaps, the first ever competitive match was organized by Maharaja of Tripura during that period between Maharaja’s team (HHK XI) against Comilla XI (from the than East Pakistan) under the captaincy of late Jogesh Chakroborty, Ex-Minister of Tripura. This was the beginning of popularization of Cricket in this State. In the year 1960 first Cricket Tournament, namely Tapan Memorial, was organized by Tripura Sports Association. During the period there was no separate Association for Cricket or other games. Tripura Sports Association organized tournaments of different games.

          In the year 1968 Tripura Cricket Association was formed separately and Cricket game got momentum in the State.

          In the year 1976 Tripura become an Associate member of the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

          In 1984 Tripura was promoted to full member of the Board.

        The only stadium of the State namely Maharaja Bir Bikram Cricket Stadium was inaugurated on November 25, 1997. Afterwards the Club House of the Stadium was constructed with the matching grant of the Board and was inaugurated by Mr. Jagmohan Dalmiah, the then President of the Board in presence of the Hon’ble Chief Minister of the State Sri Manik Sarkar on September 4, 2002.

         The office building of Tripura Cricket Association was constructed and inaugurated on September 10, 2003 by Hon’ble Chief Minister of the State Sri Manik Sarkar.